Make and Craft Blog Tour Giveaway

Welcome to my blog and thank you to Anna from Quilting along the grain for passing on the blog tour baton to me from the Make and Craft Blog.

Make and Craft is a new magazine that is due to be launched on the 12th of October – have a look over at the site in the meantime as there’s lots to explore including projects, swaps and a forum to chat to other crafty people! If you like what you see there are great offers for subscriptions on at the moment – 3 digital issues for £1 or 3 printed issues for £3 AND if you subscribe for a year or 2 you get a fab free gift!

So, first a little about me. For those of you who don’t know me, I can be found on twitter as @tillymintboutiq and on Facebook by clicking the link here.

I have been writing this blog for just over a year now, mainly writing about my crafty creations and adventures along the way. I work full time as a community neuro physiotherapist, leaving only the evenings to do my sewing. The rest of the time is taken up with being a member of St Helens WI group and attending many cakes gatherings as part of the Clandestine Cake club. I also teach some workshops at The Make and Do Studio as well as helping at an after school kids club.

My main love really is sewing though, I love thinking of new projects and writing tutorials. I love using unusual fabrics to make quirky pieces and I specifically enjoy making bags of all varieties – gadget cases, handbags, purses, clutch bags and also tea cosies. I love using appliqué, freehand embroidery and stamping to made the item more unusual and personalised!

20120928-202531.jpg

I sell all of my bags through Folksy and will soon be selling fabric and supplies though an on-line shop as part of The Make and Do Studio – keep your eyes peeled for updates!

So, back to the exciting launch of this new magazine…to celebrate, Search Press and Make and Craft have given me a copy of “Fabulous bags to stitch and make” by Jenny Rolf (RRP £12.99; ISBN 9781844483938) to give away in the next 12 days.

20120929-193332.jpg

The unique use of fabrics and embellishments make the projects in this book a lot more unusual than those that you would normally find in other books. Jenny Rolf talks you through how to piece different fabrics together then she uses free motion and embroidery techniques to embellish it. There are then step by step instructions on how to make a variety of styles of bag using your newly created piece of fabric. This book allows you to make unusual and quirky bags, that are individual to you and ensures nobody else has a bag in the same style!

All you have to do to win a copy is leave a comment below and register on the “Make and Craft” website as a member. If you’re feeling extra nice you could tweet about the giveaway, mentioning @tillymintboutiq and using the hash tag #makeandcraft

I will pick one lucky person randomly on October the 12th to receive the book and the winner will be announced on my blog at 7pm that evening. The book is published by Search Press and if you are not the lucky winner you can find the book here on the Search Press Website. As a special offer you can get free P&P on this book by calling Search Press on 01892 510850 and quoting “Make and Craft Blog Tour”.

Good luck with the giveaway – in the meantime, why not have a look at the Make and Craft Book Club where new books are discussed every month. I am particularly excited by the Poppy Treffry book on machine embroidery, it’s been on my wish list for ages, so a good excuse to buy it now!

You can discover more new craft blogs up until the magazine launch and after, with a different one each day. Tomorrow is the turn of Jennifer from Jennifer’s Jumbles – visit her website here.

Sarah x

25 thoughts on “Make and Craft Blog Tour Giveaway

  1. Wow! what a lovely array of exciting crafty activities, you manage to still fit in after working full time! Pretty exhausting just reading about all you fit in! 🙂 Your crafty exploits sound really exciting. I enjoyed reading about your varied crafty activities. The picture of your stall looks fantastic.
    Thank you for sharing the book. It sounds like it is really good for new designs and techniques. Thank you for joining in the Make and Craft Book Club Blog Tour.

  2. Wow, that looks like an amazing book. I love the look of the project on the front cover. Has it inspired you to create anything new already? I also think Poppy Treffry’s book looks fab – her work is so inspiring. I’m giving you a mention on Handmade Monday this evening – it seems it’s all about giveaways today! “See” you later 🙂

  3. You have a really lovely blog. I love one off bags and gadget covers/bags rather than having the same as everyone else.

    It’s always nice to show your personality and individuality.

  4. Oooh! This looks like an interesting book. I like the idea of making a unique piece of fabric and then creating a bag from it. Just to reiterate what others have been saying “how do you fit everything in?”

  5. Excellent blog. I’m really enjoying reading all the crafty blogs and taking part in this blog tour myself. I’ve enjoyed following you on twitter for a while – long may all the crafting continue!!

  6. Pingback: Handmade Monday 86 | Handmade Online

  7. I have joined the Make and Craft forum! Can’t wait for my first digital issue to come through. Would love to win a copy of the book as I am enjoying getting to know my new sewing machine!

  8. Loving the blog tour and all the amazing book givaways! I’ve just joined ‘Make and craft’ and hoping to gets lots of new ideas from it as i’m new to sewing! Would love this book to get me started!

Leave a Reply

