Scheejpes Hygge CAL – week 1

I’ve been quiet for a while, I’m sure you can guess why! Our little girl is now 10 weeks old, where has that time gone?!  The first few weeks weren’t easy and I really struggled to adjust. It’s only now I am starting to feel more like me and get back to some sort of normality. At the start I was frustrated that I didn’t have any motivation to do any of the things I enjoyed previously. I saw on Facebook that a CAL (crochet along) was starting on the 15th February and I thought it would be ideal to give me something to focus on each week. The project itself is a beautiful shawl, with the theme of Hygge (pronounced hue-gah), a Danish word meaning a feeling or mood that comes taking genuine pleasure in making ordinary, every day moments more meaningful, beautiful or special. 


There were several different colour ways to choose from and the appealing thing for me was that it involves doing some embroidery onto the crochet itself, something I’d never thought of doing.


The first week was creating a bobble stitch in all the different colours, which was fairly straightforward, however I’ve miscounted and have ended up with a wonky side and some odd number of bobbles. It took me all of the week to get it finished as the baby kept distracting me each time I sat down to do it, so I’ve decided to just go with it, at least it will be unique!


I’m looking forward to seeing the pattern for this weeks work and hoping I can keep on track each week. I’ll keep you posted each week as to where I am up to, another incentive to keep me going!

Sarah x

5 thoughts on “Scheejpes Hygge CAL – week 1

  1. If you undo everything which is affected by your daughter, you’ll have nothing created in the next 20 years! Roll with it. We’ve all been there and have different things which interrupt our crafting. Take the hygge! This looks fab as well. I can’t crochet but I like the sound of adding embroidery into it, so I’m watching with interest. Be gentle on yourself x

Leave a Reply

