Baby makes: part 7

I’ve finally completed the list of things I wanted to make before the baby arrives. I’ve already started a list of the things I want to make once we know if it’s a boy or a girl! With the imminent arrival (my due date was a few days ago) it was touch and go as to whether I’d finish this project. I was determined it wouldn’t be a WIP never to see the light of day!

As a child I had a cardboard hungry caterpillar book. Mum tells the story that I loved the book so much that I ate it..I’m not sure if I ate all of it but quite a lot of it was very chewn! Recently the hungry caterpillar has made a comeback and there are all sorts of things you can buy (most of which I now have!) and I saw a quilt kit that I knew I had to make. At this point I had forgotten I’d only ever made one small quilt before, the pattern looked fairly straightforward and used a big panel which made the design quite eye catching but still easy to make


I have to say the instructions were pretty basic and relied a lot on people having prior knowledge of quilting. I think with the pressure of completing it I certainly rushed some bits and it isn’t quite as perfect as I hoped.


However I’m really pleased I finished it. It’s much bigger than I thought it would be, but it’ll be perfect as a tummy time blanket. It might just be hard to spot the baby when it’s dressed in its hungry caterpillar outfit, playing with its hungry caterpillar toys 😏

Sarah x

Leave a Reply

