Handmade Christmas: part 1 

I mentioned in an earlier post that I went camping with the WI at the end of September. There were lots of different workshops to sign up for and one in particular caught my eye – decoupage. I’ve always wanted to give it a go but have been put off not knowing what glue, varnish etc to use. The workshop was a perfect introduction and I decorated a little elephant which I wanted to give to my mum for Christmas.

Since the workshop I bought a few other things to decorate and give as Christmas presents to different people
 

The tin at the back was one that I had from making some marmalade (pre prepared oranges in a tin from Lakeland) and it seemed ideal to attack with decoupage papers! I think I’ll use it as a plant pot in the kitchen.

I love how easy it is to decorate things, plus you can stick the papers on more or less anything! I used Modge Podge which also has a varnish on it, therefore a lot less effort!

I thought I’d also share with you the marmelade I made. I bought the tin as a trial to see how effective it would be. The oranges are all prepared, so all you have to do is add the sugar. It was suprisingly easy to do and makes six big jars. I decided to wrap up some of them to give as gifts as 3 is more than enough to keep us going for a while!


They also do a lemon marmalade and strawberry conserve which I’m tempted to try.

Sarah x

One thought on “Handmade Christmas: part 1 

Leave a Reply

