Wartime quilt

Both my parents and I have been doing a lot of sorting in preparation for the baby arriving. Mum has been keen to find my baby clothes as well as all the toys, books etc etc that she’s kept for 33 years. She sent Dad into the loft and down came many bin bags of stuff that haven’t seen the light of day since I was in nappies. Out of one bag came a quilt with a story I felt I needed to share with you.

This quilt is probably nearly 80 years old and was sent to my Grandmother from her friend in Canada during the war. The quilt came in a parcel along with items that would have been considered a luxury during the war as well as the essential items that were rationed over here. My Mum remembers a label that was with the quilt and she thinks that it was handmade by a group of women similar to the WI. Sadly the label is no longer around however after a bit of googling, it seems like these initiatives were very common, with the Red Cross sending out over 20,000 handmade quilts from Nova Scotia in Canada. The detail of the quilt is amazing, the stitching is all done by hand and is perfect, with the colours as vibrant as they were all those years ago.

The quilt was passed on to my Mum from my Grandmother and was used by me as a child to play on. My Mum has now passed it on to me for our baby to grow up with. As I laid it out on the grass in the sunshine to take some photos, I couldn’t help be a little emotional to think of the history behind it and excited to think of the future and the happy memories we will create as a family.

Sarah x

Leave a Reply

