Sew not buy project #6

So here is my May make, if a little delayed! June and July will follow shortly! This make was to wear for a vintage soirée held at the Bakewell baking festival. My husband had bought me a fantastic dress kit from cloth kits, including some stunning fabric. I was too scared to make the initial dress with the fabric it came with and so raided my stash and decided to use some black and white spotty fabric that I had bought from Abakhan ages ago.

With being so busy before the festival I had contemplated buying a dress, however I really did want to stick to my sew not buy pledge. I still think it looked great, even if I rushed some bits of it. I definitely know the bits that I need to work on when I come to make the next dress.

P8140004-0.JPG

The instructions that came with the pattern were extremely easy to follow. The pattern is designed for those at an intermediate level. I wouldn’t quite say I’m that advanced, however there were parts where it just said ‘insert zip’ or ‘princess seams’ and you would need to know what to do. However a bit of googling and I was sorted! I love the fit and style of the dress and can see it might become a wardrobe staple. It would look fantastic with a little petticoat underneath to flare out the skirt a little.

The soirée was held at the start of the baking festival and was to raise money for Helens trust. There were nibbles, cocktails in teapots and fantastic music from Vintage 78 djs.

P8140002.JPG

It was a fantastic night and a great way to raise money for the charity.

Cost:
Pattern: free as was a present
Fabric: approx £6 (not too sure as had it that long!) plus £1.20 for zip. Interfacing for neckline used from stash.

Sarah x

One thought on “Sew not buy project #6

Leave a Reply

