Sew not buy project #4 – April

My make for April was severely delayed due to writing assignments, therefore I have only just got round to making it. Subsequently my make for May will follow in quick succession!

I have been wanting to make some clothes I could take away on holiday when we go to France in June. After vowing I wouldn’t use the Great British sewing bee book, I was drawn to the draped top, which looked perfect for barmy evenings sat by the lake. I think it was the fabric I really liked plus how simple it looked to make.

IMG_1265.JPG
I spent many hours looking at Liberty cotton lawn fabric which would be so lovely for this top. However in order to save money, I picked up a bargain from Seamstar, and got some cotton lawn by Robert Kaufman for £8. The great thing about this pattern is that it only uses 1m of fabric.

I learnt from my last sewing bee make and did a trial run on some cheap fabric. I’m so glad I did as the top was way too short and there were a few bits of the instructions I was glad to practice. I therefore made my pattern 2 inches longer at the bottom, this made it much more decent, with no belly button showing!

IMG_1267.JPG
The drape of the top wasn’t what I was expecting as it hangs funny over my chest. I’m still quite pleased with it and it is lovely and light, perfect for holiday!

Sarah x

3 thoughts on “Sew not buy project #4 – April

  1. Just the ticket! You seem so much happier with this top. Let’s hope you get lots of balmy nights to wear it!

  2. That looks lovely 🙂 pretty material too… I could never wear a halter neck top though 😦 Gosh the sewing bee book isn’t good for beginners is it?

Leave a Reply

