Crochet Update

Get the fanfares ready…my first crochet project is finished! The blanket I started back in July is now the right size and shape for all the ends to be woven in. I have decided that I’m not going to edge it and just leave it as plain stripes, for now at least. There’s 2 reasons for this. One being that I have a few projects I need to start as they are going to be Christmas gifts, and the second is that if I’m honest I’m a bit sick of looking at the blanket!
I normally do my sewing etc to give as presents and more recently I decided I should make things for myself. However after making this blanket I’ve come to realise that after a while the charm of it had worn off and I really just wanted to get it done and move onto the next project. Maybe later next year I will come back to it and finish the edging, but for now I’m quite happy with how it’s turned out.

20140914-194437-71077752.jpg

There are certainly bits I know are wrong, but this was always a project to learn from. My next blanket is another Attic 24 pattern and I surcome to buying the yarn pack for it too!

IMG_4136-0.JPG

I’m looking forward to making this as a gift for someone special. Hopefully the things I learnt from the granny stripes blanket will help with this one!

Sarah x

2 thoughts on “Crochet Update

  1. It’s beautiful! Well done. When I finished my blanket last year, I returned to it just after Christmas. I really enjoyed adding the edging once I’d had a good break from it.
    I would recommend edging it. It helps it keep its shape and also prevents the ends from unravelling. It’ll last a lot longer and survive a lot more abuse.
    Congratulations on the end of your first major crochet make!

Leave a Reply

