Garden redesign

Although strictly not handmade, this post still is about me using my creative skills, so I hope you’ll bare with me! We have lived in our house for 6 years now and I’ve never really felt happy with the garden. As we live in a terrace house, it’s more of a yard really, unfortunately with no grass and just concrete. I’ve tried various different things to try and pretty it up, but it’s never felt somewhere where we’ve been able to relax and enjoy the sunshine. So in April I started a 6 week garden design course, taught by Katherine and Cynthia from Fat Grass Garden Designs. We covered things such as drawing a scale drawing of our garden, planning our design and picking suitable plants. It was a fantastic opportunity to use the skills we had been taught to come up with a design that was right for the space and practical for what we needed. I went through several draft designs before deciding on the final design.

I wanted a space that would give us an area to sit in and relax, but still allow my hubby to wash his bikes. With being such a small area, I also wanted to screen the wheelie bins so we weren’t looking at them when having a nice summer evening meal!

So this is what the garden looked like before (complete with dead Christmas tree!)

20140630-213221.jpg

And this is what it looks like now

20140630-213115.jpg

I made the raised beds using gravel boards, normally used for fencing. The screening I already had and just reused to better effect. The bench was bought from Wickes. The plants are mainly ones that I had already, so maybe not quite as cohesive as Katherine and Cynthia would have suggested. However I love how the garden looks and delighted that it is still functional for what we need. I love the bench, a place to sit and contemplate. I also added a few fairy lights to brighten up the space as the sun goes down.

I thoroughly enjoyed designing the space, problem solving and getting my hands dirty. We’ve been lucky to have some beautiful days to sit out in the garden and appreciate all my hard work, hopefully they’ll be many more to come!

Sarah x

2 thoughts on “Garden redesign

Leave a Reply

