Handmade Monday 166

Last weekend I spent the day with my 2 friends in Manchester. First exploring the Manchester Design and craft centre, followed by lunch and cake at Home Sweet Home in the Northern Quarter, before ending up at a workshop by the Ministry of Craft.

The workshop was three hours of learning how to knit a wire bracelet, adorned with beautiful beads. I had to swot up before hand and learn the knitting basics but Rachel, the course tutor, reassured me that alls I had to be able to do was cast on, knit and cast off. That seemed pretty straight forward, however when knitting with wire, it takes on a whole different life to that of yarn!

After casting on, I was convinced that I was doing it wrong, as it looked nothing like what I was used to. However I persevered and eventually it started to take shape. Once I’d knitted a few rows I then added in beads every couple of stitches.

20140504-161420.jpg

Knitting with the wire was a lot more tricky than yarn as it’s obviously a lot harder to knit with and left my fingers quite sore! With knitting that bit slower than everyone else, I had to finish my bracelet at home. However it didn’t take long before I was casting off, rolling it into shape and attaching the clasp to finish it off.

20140505-190713.jpg

I really enjoyed the workshop and was able to bring some bits away with me to make some more. If I start now I might get a few made for Christmas!

It’s been a while since I joined in with Handmade Monday, so please pop over to Wendy’s blog to see what everyone else has been up to.

Sarah x

4 thoughts on “Handmade Monday 166

  1. It’s a lovely knitted bracelet you made. May I ask what size/kind of wire you used to knit it with? I love the additions of the beads, too. Very pretty.

Leave a Reply

