Handmade Monday 147

I’ve struggled with finding time for sewing over the last few weeks, but with the prospect of 4 secret santas to buy for, I felt a few handmade gifts were needed.

I recently went to Abakhan in north Wales and was delighted to find a bargain bin of leather pieces. I had been wanting to try sewing with leather for ages, so £5.48 for a fairly large piece, it was the perfect opportunity to give it a go! I therefore decided one secret Santa gift should be a clasp purse but using leather instead of fabric.

Maeri from The Make and Do Studio had kindly given me a walking foot for my machine, coupled with some leather needles and I was ready to go!

20131215-125522.jpg

I used clothes pegs rather than pins so as not to puncture the leather

20131215-125638.jpg

I found the turning out of the leather a little tricky due to the bulk of the leather. I therefore decided that I should adapt my usual method for attaching the lining to the leather, avoiding the need to turn it out and reduce the bulk further.

20131215-125448.jpg

I am really pleased with the end result. The walking foot worked like a dream and I’ll certainly be making more purses like this!

20131215-125943.jpg

Pop over to handmade Monday and see what everyone has been up to this week.

Sarah x

12 thoughts on “Handmade Monday 147

  1. My mum and I use clothes pegs for pretty much everything, from ‘filing’ / bulldog clips to swatch holders to photo frames – but never as pins, what a great idea! 🙂 Gorgeous purse, I’d be delighted to be the lucky receiver of this gift! I hope they reciprocate! x

  2. What a brilliant idea for Secret Santa’s. I’m sure the recipient will be delighted.
    Your purse is lovely and well done with battling with leather. It’s not the easiest fabric to work with xx

  3. That purse looks amazing, and well done for being brave enough to try sewing a new material – I’m always a bit hesitant if I’m doing something new. I’m sure your Secret Santa will adore it.

Leave a Reply

