Handmade Monday 127

So it’s been fairly quiet here at Tilly Mint HQ with lots of house jobs needing doing, along with some building work starting, I haven’t had much motivation for sewing. When my friend asked me if I could custom make a birthday present for her friends daughter who is going to be 1 in August, I was delighted to be back behind the sewing machine!

Karen had a good idea of what she wanted and requested I made a doll. I had been following a lady on twitter for ages, admiring her beautiful patterns for her dolls, she’s called Dolls and Daydreams, perfect patterns for all sorts of dolls!

The pattern is an instant download, so no waiting around for it to arrive in the post! I printed it out and read it thoroughly before cutting out the pattern pieces. Sarah really does explain everything very clearly, perfect for beginners to sewing.

I ordered some felt for the dolls hair from Blooming felt and sought some advice from Seamstar for the best colour match of fabric for the body.

20130727-175506.jpg

Sarah gives some great tutorials on her blog on how to draw the face, with embroidery techniques if the doll is for younger children. I practiced first on a spare bit of fabric

20130727-175436.jpg

Then came the stuffing of the arms and legs – quite therapeutic!

20130727-175531.jpg

The doll is still in progress at the moment, with 2 dresses to be made as well. I will reveal her once she’s been received by the birthday girl!

I’m looking forward to catching up with everyone over at handmade Monday, why don’t you have a look too?

Sarah x

9 thoughts on “Handmade Monday 127

  1. I can’t wait to see the finished doll – and I’ve now bookmarked the site to have a good look around later, because I love making things for my daughter to play with.

  2. Look forward to seeing the finished doll, I’m sure she’ll be a much loved present. The background at the top of your blog is fab – I love the colours.. where did the image come from? x

Leave a Reply

