Handmade Monday 110

This week has been a bit of a mixed one, with lots of sewing and baking of all sorts of different things. My first job was to make a custom order cover for an iPad Mini. With free reign of choice of material, and knowing a little about the recipient, I chose a retro feeling typewriter print

20130331-222823.jpg

Next came sewing a new batch of stock for Chouxchouxbedoo. I had seen the tutorial Wendy did on making a small coin purse keying and thought these would be good to sell in the shop. They are perfect as they dono’t take long to make and are ideal to use up scraps of fabric

20130331-223219.jpg

I love how they are a little rough ground the edges, plus it helped me get over my zip fear!

20130331-223310.jpg

I also made one more crayon roll in a fabric more suited to boys. I think this may be the last one of these I make for a while as I like to keep changing what I make, rather than constantly churning out the same stuff.

20130331-223513.jpg

I also managed to get quite a bit of baking done, with a Easter theme of chocolate cake and cake pops the main feature

20130401-110925.jpg

I hid a very small creme egg in the middle of the cake pops as a little surprise when biting into them!

20130401-110847.jpg

I also made the creme egg brownies from the recipe that’s doing the rounds on the Internet. It was part of a bake along with the Cake and Bake show, nice to take part! I’m looking forward to going to the show next Saturday.

20130401-110957.jpg

The last thing I attempted was a pineapple upside down cake from the Clandestine Cake Club book. I have to say, this cake was destined to fail from the start, with several things not going to plan. The last straw came however when it came to putting the pineapple rings in the tin. I hunted high and low for them, but to no avail, lost between sainsburys and home, never to be seen again. I then had to try and salvage what I had already made and turn it into something edible. I mixed together a few more ingredients and shoved it into the oven. Out came the most delicious upside down apple cake!

20130401-110813.jpg

So it’s time now to pop over to Handmade Monday and see what everyone’s been crafting this week. If you’ve got time, I’m also featured in Wendy’s tea and chat interview – please have a look.

Sarah x

11 thoughts on “Handmade Monday 110

  1. I love the fabric you used for the ipad cover. The creme egg brownies are delicious, I tried the recipe out over the weekend, they didn’t last long 🙂 Your apple cake looks scrummy too!

  2. Your coin purses look fab all together like that! I’m glad my tutorial was useful! I also love that it helped you get over your zip fear! Your fabrics all look gorgeous. The creme egg brownie thing looks completely amazing. If I didn’t have to eat gluten free, I think I would be knocking on your door angling for an invite to afternoon tea!!

  3. Now I understand your tweet about the pineapple rings! The greatly anticipated purses look great. The map one particularly caught my eye. You certainly have had a very productive week and I hope this one is the same 🙂

  4. The coin purses are lovely, but my favourite is the ipad case with it’s retro typewriter design.
    You are obviously a good cook as you could retask your pineapple upside down cake into an apple one. The chocolate looks wonderful too 🙂

  5. oooh so many lovely things! I love the typewriter i-pad case – what a fun idea! and the little coin purses are gorgeous (i have zip fear too so may have to have a go at some of these!).

    All your baking looks scrummy, you must have had a very happy family over the Easter weekend 🙂 x

  6. Brilliant coin purses – I too have zip-hate/fear! Well done for conquering yours. I used to make pineapple upside-down cakes for the kids – always a favourite. Your apple upside-down cake looks seriously yummy. I could do with a slice (or two) of that!

  7. Wow, what a busy week! I love the crayon roll material and the typewritter cover is gorgeous! The cakes look lovely and I bet the creme egg cake was delish – I didn’t dare make it myself as I’d have eaten the lot!! Funny how sometimes things that go wrong can taste wonderful in another guise! Simmi x

Leave a Reply

