Handmade Monday 104

I missed the last Handmade Monday post due to an episode of dizziness. I was recently diagnosed with something called Migraine Associated Vertigo. As a result I am trailing different mediation and I am on a strict diet (including no alcohol or chocolate!!) to try and control my symptoms. It was so frustrating to wake up last Sunday with the world spinning. I had planned on finishing my mystery project so I could share it with you, so I had to keep you guessing another week instead!

Here’s my finished project

20130217-171922.jpg

A make up bag! Thank you to everyone that commented on my last past, a lot of you had guessed right! I did some freehand machine embroidery to make out the definition of the items and I lined it with wipe clean fabric to make it practical to use.

20130217-171948.jpg

I have had an influx of custom orders too over the last 2 weeks, so I have been busy working on those. It’s lovely to get a brief then let you imagination run wild with fabric and design ideas! I will share the photos next week once everyone has received them!

So it’s over to handmade harbour again, looking forward to seeing what you have all been up to. I just also want to quickly mention another blog which I think you should all go and read – Span’s Studio. Hannah also suffers from MAV but her symptoms are so much worse than mine, limiting her day to day and also her crafting. I feel truly inspired as to the things she is able to do despite her symptoms.

Sarah x

17 thoughts on “Handmade Monday 104

  1. This is lovely. I am sorry to hear about your illness but hope that you can minimise the effects so you are able to carry out activities you have planned. I agree, Hannah is truly inspirational. Her outlook on life is amazing. I hope that your week is a positive one. xxx

  2. The make up bag looks lovely. I really like the applique make up on the outside. I hope the medication and diet change improves your symptoms. Have a lovely week.
    Ali x

  3. Oh Sarah, I’m so sorry to hear about your migraine-related vertigo. I suffered a long time with chronic migraine, so I hope you manage to keep it under control. I did a lot of research on food/migraine and discovered the gluten connection completely by accident, but it did make a huge difference to me. Everyone is different though. Have a read of http://headacheandmigrainenews.com/ – lots of news on there that might be useful. Loving the FME by the way! 🙂

  4. Lovely make-up bag – so pretty. Nothing like a bit of freehand embroidery! I don’t eat chocolate or drink alcohol as I get migraines. I don’t take medication though – I just try to avoid what causes the headaches.

  5. MAV sounds really grim and it’s great that you (and Hannah) always manage to be so cheerful. I hope the medication trialling sorts out something helpful for you. Your bag is lovely – very smart. hope you have a good week.

  6. Bless your heart Sarah, I hope the meds and diet works for you, if I can help in any way, let me know. MAV is a very strange illness as it has so many weird symtoms that you dont always get with classic migraines which is why it takes so long to diagnose. But, there are lots of people out there who find relief with meds and diet so I have every hope for you xxx we will get there xxx

  7. I’m sorry to hear about your illness, it sounds really distressing, i hope you’re feeling more yourself really soon.. x

    Your bag is so cute! I love the applique make-up! x

  8. That’s lovely! My friend has a very similar illness and has been much better, especially dizzy wise since her GP re set the balance centre in her ears – its called vestibular something – not all Drs can do it but perhaps it might be worth an ask? x

Leave a Reply

