Mixed Media Workshop

Last Sunday I spent a lovely day learning the art of mixed media with Emily Notman at Unit Twelve in Stafford. I had been looking for some time to find a course that covered the basics of mixed media, something that has always attracted me. When I saw Emily’s work and found that she did a workshop, I couldn’t wait to sign up.

Unit Twelve is made up of different artists who use the space as their studio, but it’s also a fantastic area to have workshops

20130128-180015.jpg

Emily’s work is gorgeous, fantastic combination of textures and materials

20130128-174454.jpg

The front part of the studio is an exhibition of the artists work

20130128-175133.jpg

Along with pieces which you can buy

20130128-175217.jpg

I particularly love the work of Jennifer Collier, I have already found one of her workshops I want to go on!

20130128-175628.jpg

We started by mixing different colours using ink, paint and bleach. We then applied them to different types of material to see what effect we got

20130128-174625.jpg

After the fabrics were dry, we pieced them together to form a landscape, using free motion stitching, beads and hand stitches to give extra effect. I found the initial process quite hard as I struggle to go with my imagination – I’m a very precise person, who likes to follow patterns, however once I got going there was no stopping me! My finished piece was based on a seascape

20130128-175017.jpg

I am delighted with the finished result, I love how you can combine different textures, colours and stitching to create a truly unique piece.

Sarah x

2 thoughts on “Mixed Media Workshop

  1. Pingback: Screening printing at Unit Twelve Gallery | Tilly Mint Boutique

Leave a Reply

