Handmade Monday 101

This weeks handmade Monday post consists of a custom order. I was asked to make a bag to replace one that had worn out from carrying one too many library books. My brief was to make it more or less the same design and size as the old one. I gave the customer some ideas of some funky fabrics and we decided on a very apt fabric showing shelves of books in a girly pink.

20130127-215244.jpg

I had never made a bag of this design before ( a flap over style) however I am delighted with the result!

20130127-215453.jpg

I used a contrasting red lining so there wasn’t too much pink!

20130127-215604.jpg

The customer and her children were delighted with their new bag and sent me a photo when it arrived

20130127-215750.jpg

I have also made another bag using the same fabric but in a different design

20130127-215900.jpg

My last make was a quick spur of the minute design using up the selvedge ends of my fabric – I sewed them together to form a pin cushion

20130127-220108.jpg

Both the bag and pin cushion are now available in my Folksy shop!

Over now to the rest of the gang at Handmade Monday, I’m sure there’s some delights to browse through this week! Once again, I do read all of your posts, I’m still struggling to comment on some of them though 😦

Sarah x

10 thoughts on “Handmade Monday 101

  1. ooooh those bags are gorgeous!! Loving the pink book shelf fabric 🙂 I bet your customer was thrilled!

    Such a cute idea for a pin cushion too, waste not want not 🙂 x

  2. Super bags – just perfect and I LOVE your pincushion. I keep all my selvedge edges too and find all sorts of uses for them – quite often as ribbon to tie up presents! The pincushion is a brill idea.

  3. What a lovely bag. By the look on the girls faces they loved it too.

    I’ve never thought about using selvage ends before – they just end up in the bin Will make a pin cushion next time.

  4. What a great idea for the pin cushion – well done. I love the material you have used for the bag. Hope you have a good week.

    Christmas Pie Crafts

Leave a Reply

