Handmade Monday 91

I feel this weeks Handmade Monday might be a slight cheat, as it wasn’t really me making things, so please forgive me, however I still wanted to share with you what I’ve been up to! On Thursday I was at the Make and Do Studio teaching 2 lovely ladies how to make a clutch bag using a metal clasp frame.

It was a lovely relaxed evening learning the basics of bag making and how to fit the metal clasp

20121104-095816.jpg

The finished bags looked gorgeous

20121104-095955.jpg

20121104-100023.jpg

I was delighted that the workshop went to plan, all within 3 hours!

I have actually made something this week, all be it not my usual sewing related item, but some cake pops! For those of you who haven’t made them before, I thought I’d do a quick guide.

First make a cake – I chose a carrot cake following a recipe from bbc good food. (I missed out the cream cheese frosting). Bake the cake as normal and once cooled crumble the mixture.

20121104-100730.jpg

I then put the mixture into the freezer to make it a bit easier to handle. Next make a quantity of buttercream. Mix the buttercream into the crumbed mixture and form into medium sized balls. Push cake pop sticks into each ball

20121104-100912.jpg

Now comes the fun bit! Melt some chocolate in a bowl, let it cool slightly so a little thick and gloopy. Carefully coat the balls in the chocolate – you can get special chocolate for cake pop making which stops the chocolate dripping. However as my cake pops were for Halloween I was making little ghosts to stand on a plate rather be held upright, so a little pooling of chocolate added to the effect! I added small chocolates for eyes and they were ready to go!

20121104-101304.jpg

They were a lot harder to make than I first thought and quite time consuming, however I recommend you give them a go!

If you have been following my blog over the last few months you will know about my work with The Make and Do Studio, creating an online store full of all sorts of sewing related items. On Tuesday I will be posting an important announcement about the site so be sure to come back and see what it’s all about! We now have a twitter account and Facebook page too – follow us to be the first to know what’s going on!

Sarah x

13 thoughts on “Handmade Monday 91

  1. Wow their bags look very professional. They must have a good teacher : ) Thanks for sharing the cake pops recipe. I get to bake with my god daughter so we might try these next time.
    Ali x

  2. ooooh i always wondered how to make cake pops… yours look yummy!

    well done on the success of your class, the finished bags look fab 🙂 x

  3. No, that’s not cheating at all – Handmade Monday can be about anything related to handmade so your classes fit the bill perfectly – and lovely to see the results. Although added cake never goes amiss, does it? 😉

  4. I wanna come to your bag making workshop! Fancy a trip to NZ? Your cake pops look delicious, thank you for the guide. I bet your trick or treaters were delighted 🙂

  5. Love the purses, especially the spotty one and the cake pops look delicious – I may have to give them a go for Daisy’s birthday later this month!
    I’m not sure I can wait until tomorrow for your announcement, you have been teasing us for far too long!

Leave a Reply

