Herman Cake

My mum and dad were on holiday in Yorkshire recently, staying in a cottage they often go to. The lady that owns the cottage has become quite good friends with them and always leaves a variety of homemade cakes and biscuits for when they arrive. Mum commented on the cake this time, saying how tasty it was, it tums out it was a Herman cake and she ended up coming home with a container with some of the mixture!

For those of you who don’t know what a Herman cake is, it’s a friendship cake consisting of a starter mix of ingredients which after so many days you add sugar, flour and milk. When the time is right the growing mixture is separated into four portions; one to bake with and three to share – and so the cycle goes on.

So, needless to say, I got a portion from my mum, with the strict instructions ‘You cannot put me in the fridge or I will die. If I stop bubbling, I am dead.’ What a commitment to have, what if I killed him?! After much reading of various websites, I was reassured that it was very unlikely that I could kill Herman, as long as I followed the instructions! It wasn’t too complicated to look after him, basically stirring him each day, with the odd few times of feeing him…

This is what the mixture looks like after giving it a good stir – much bubbles!!

20121013-192744.jpg

The difficulty came when I divided the mixture, I then had to find people who were happy to take on the responsibility of looking after Herman for the next 10 days, luckily I found 2 willing volunteers at my WI group!

So next was to bake the cake, first adding all sorts of ingredients, such as apples and sultanas and also a lot of sugar!

20121014-203155.jpg

The cake turn out beautifully, really moist and full of flavour!

20121014-203234.jpg

The best thing is that you can freeze the finished cake, perfect for when you need a quick cake fix!

So if you get passed a Herman cake mix, don’t be scared! It really is fun to make and I cant wait to hear where he goes on his travels!

Sarah x

One thought on “Herman Cake

Leave a Reply

