Handmade Monday 85

So this week has been a busy one, due to one thing or another, I’ve felt my stress levels rising and my usual calmness diminishing! Hopefully you have all heard about my news of the new venture I’m involved in, if not read about it here! So my time has been taken up with sorting out things for the new site – myself and my hubby are doing the design, meaning not much time for other things! It will all be worth it though!

I have however had some time for sewing. At the end of August I signed up to take part in the WI Lancashire county show to be held this week. I decided on only entering one category – designing a fabric postcard. Up until reading the show guide I had never even heard of fabric postcards! After a bit of research on the Internet I found some great tutorials. Not in my usual style, I left it right to the last minute to do my design, hence the increase in stress levels! To keep buying new fabric to a minimum, I used scraps of material to do a caravan design

20120923-164846.jpg

With the traditional design of a postcard on the back, using embroidery to create the word postcard. This itself proved difficult as I had never done it before, it could have been better, but not bad for a first attempt!

20120923-164929.jpg

The rules of the show stipulate it has to be no bigger than 6×4″. I used stabilizer ironed onto the fabric, with some wadding in between the layers, using bias binding to finish off the edges. If you fancy doing one yourself, keep a look out on here for a tutorial I will be doing over the next few weeks!

My other make this week was a bake in the form of some cinnamon and apple Swirls from a recipe in Delicious Magazine

20120923-165003.jpg

I have recently subscribed again to Delicious (I had a subscription ages ago and had cancelled it) and have tried quite a few new recipes already. These pastries were really easy to make and tasted quite nice too! I think I would make them again, but with a few tweaks!

I hope you have had a good week, if you fancy seeing what else has been going on in the craft world, pop over to Handmade harbour and join in with Handmade Monday.

Sarah x

21 thoughts on “Handmade Monday 85

  1. Your postcard is fab! I love the fact that entering challenges like this makes us think of things we wouldn’t normally do.

  2. Really great makes this week. I think my stress levels would have also hit the roof with these. The work that you have put into the post card looks very complicated. I really like the bright cheery colours you have used.

  3. your postcard is super cute 🙂 and your pastries look delicious and v professional!

    good luck with your new venture, it sound exciting! x

  4. Your caravan postcard is great, good luck at the WI comp. Are you sure you didn’t nip out and buy those pastries? They look so professional and very yummy. Have a lovely week.
    Ali x

  5. Pingback: Thursday Thoughts of Inspiration « craftgirl78

Leave a Reply

