Handmade Monday 78

I have been absent for the last few weeks for Handmade Monday due to holidays and redecoration/revamp of my kitchen, so I really haven’t had time to do any crafting. However after my last craft fair, I got 3 custom orders which I had to make by this weekend, so with a few days off and kitchen jobs done I finally was able to get my sewing machine out!

My first order was for an apron for wearing at craft fairs, kindly ordered by Jen of Offbeat Beads. She gave me free rein on fabric choice and due to the nature of fabric needed (heavier weight) I decided Ikea was a good place to browse. Here’s the final apron

20120802-183336.jpg

Jen also ordered a kindle cover for her daughter’s birthday, choosing the fabric herself from Seamstar.

20120802-184429.jpg

I think it was a great choice and love the pattern!

With me completing more orders, I decided I needed some labels for my products. When I first started making, I bought some labels, however they weren’t all that great and I haven’t been using them. However I knew how important it is to have labels in your products so people remember who you are. I found some great woven labels from a company on Etsy called World Wide Label. I got to choose from a huge selection of colours and fonts and had many emails back and forth to get the right design. The service was very prompt and although I had to order a minimum of 300, it was well worth it!

20120802-184109.jpg

Here’s one in situ in Jen’s apron

20120802-184209.jpg

My last order was from a lady who owns a florist shop. At the craft fair I was selling some felt roses I had made almost a year ago but never used. She was really interested and asked me to make her some samples of different sizes, using sticks, brooches and the ability to stick onto paper to display them. I also used the same method using fabric instead of felt. I tried upholstery fabric and also cotton fabric reinforced with some interfacing.

20120802-184237.jpg

I also tried another type of felt flower using a loop method (green one in the picture) which I think looks really effective.

You might have seen my post in the week about my giveaway to win an olympic inspired tea cosy. The giveaway closed last night and I decided to use random.org to pick the winner. So drumroll please….the winner is….Deb Connor – congratulations!! I will get in touch to arrange delivery!

So quite a productive week really! Once my kitchen is finished I will share some photos with you! I’m off now to browse the other handmade Monday posts, why don’t you join me?

Sarah x

29 thoughts on “Handmade Monday 78

  1. Love, love, love the fabric for the apron – excellent choice and very striking. Your new labels look amazing, I love the colour. Love the fabric on the Kindle cover too. The felt flowers look good too. Too much excitement here for just one week!! πŸ˜‰

  2. Love the fabric for the apron and kindle cover, the labels look great with your name on them.
    I think the flowers look amazing, you could use them for lots of things,
    Ali x

  3. Love the new labels, they really add to a professional touch to work. And that is one of my fave patterns from IKEA… it just makes you smile… I wonder if I have enough left in my stash for an apron… back soon πŸ™‚

  4. A very productive week! The apron is really fantastic – an inspired fabric choice and beautiful design. I love the kindle cover as well and i’m sure its new owner will to!

    Thank you very much for the recommendation and link for labels – this is on my ‘to do’ list so i will definitely check out the shop you’ve suggested.

    I’m glad your kitchen re-vamp is complete – apart from the bathroom probably the room most likely to cause maximum disruption to the whole house when work is being done! We are having our kitchen floor replaced soon… i’m not looking forward to it! x

  5. I’ve been experimenting with homemade flowers recently for my wedding centre pieces and it’s great fun! I love yours though πŸ™‚

  6. As always I love everything. The labels are wonderful, I keep thinking I should do something. I don’t sell anything, but for my stuffed critters, down the road a grandchild might like to pass it on and have someone remember that it was made by Grandma. I really like yours.
    I also LOVE those flowers. Those are too too pretty. Maybe I’ll think of doing some for a project down the road. Would be nice gifts for the daughters in law.

  7. Pingback: Handmade Monday 80 | Butterfly in the Blossom Tree

    • To be honest I can’t quite remember how long they took, but know it wasn’t too long and was quite happy with how long I waited for them. They are really good quality, would definitely recommend.

Leave a Reply

