Snack Pack Tutorial

At the craft fair I had a request to make a ‘snack pack’ for a customers 6 year old child. They are designed for kids to use to take carrots, fruit, sandwiches etc into school, saving on using the freezer style bags. This was something I had seen on Etsy but hadn’t made before. However it all looked straight forward, the brief was – waterproof lining with a Velcro closure. I also decided to use some special wadding which will help keep the contents cool. I thought I would share with you how I made it. You will need some basic sewing experience to complete this project.

You will need:

Sewing machine
Thread
Scissors/rotary cutter and mat
Cotton fabric (pre washed)
Waterproof fabric (I used 100% nylon sold at Abakhan. Don’t be tempted to use oil cloth type fabrics as they’re not food safe)
Velcro 5″ long
Heat resistant wadding

I have used a 1/2″ seam allowance throughout.

1. Cut 2 pieces of fabric, lining and wadding all 7.5 x 7.5″

2. Put the 2 pieces of outer fabric right sides together and put the wadding on the outside, sandwiching the fabric. Ensure the ‘silvery’ side of the wadding faces outwards. Pin in place.

20120628-163309.jpg

Sew around three sides. Trim corners and turn right side out.

3. Pin together the 2 pieces of lining fabric and sew down the long sides.

4. Place lining fabric over outer fabric, right sides facing, aligning the side seams.

20120628-163548.jpg

Sew around the top edge, attaching lining to outer.

5. Push lining into outer and stitch around the top

20120628-163709.jpg

6. Pull the lining out of the outer and pin the Velcro approx 1/4″ from top seam. Sew close to edge of velcro. I ended up using a zipper foot and changed the position of the needle to make this bit easier.

20120628-164054.jpg

7. Fold in 1/4″ on bottom of lining to make a nice neat edge, sew close to edge.

20120628-164407.jpg

8. Push lining into outer and press

20120628-164459.jpg

20120628-164521.jpg

The completed snack pack will be fine to wash on a 30 degree wash. I think these are great to use no matter what age you are! Plus having one of these is better for the environment as less plastic bags are used! Let me know if you make one, I’d love to see some photos of it!

Sarah x

6 thoughts on “Snack Pack Tutorial

  1. I may have to make some of these in the future. Previously I’ve been wary of how you’d clean the velcro, but if you’ve just used nylon for the lining they’ll probably go through the wash fine. (The ones I recall seeing looked like oil cloth.)

  2. Very nice indeed. You have inspired me to get my sewing machine out this weekend. I was going to do some crochet too. Have a lovely weekend Heather xxx

  3. Brilliant. Ive seen ones for sale (for stupid money) that are just a peice of lined fabric with velcro that you fold /wrap around your sandwiches, but this ones makes much more sense. Might have to give this a go. Thanks for sharing. :o)

Leave a Reply

