Handmade Monday 71

I am quite pleased as this week has been quite productive! I have more or less managed to finish all of the things I wanted to make for selling at Thursday’s craft fair. There were a few other bits I had ideas of making however with working full time, there just aren’t enough hours in the day for sewing!

Just in case you don’t know about the craft fair and are local to Warrington and want to pop along, here are the details

20120617-215024.jpg

So one of my projects this week has been to make some coin purses using an internal flexi frame bought from U-handbag. There is a fantastic tutorial on how to make these super cute purses on the website too.

The one with the VW on is made using a stamp and fabric ink, I love the effect it gives!

20120617-213548.jpg

I am in a bit of a dilemma as to how much to charge for these purses, as the flexi frame itself is quite expensive (£2.50 from u-handbag, but I have since found them cheaper elsewhere). The time and fabric to make them don’t add up to much, but I’m not sure what would be a reasonable price to charge – £5/£6 maybe?

Yesterday I enjoyed a day out with 2 fellow WI members to go to a beginners appliqué course. Thankfully it really was for beginners and we learnt all the basics, including 5 different ways to appliqué.

20120617-214041.jpg
Appliqué using some paper and needle turning and a slip stitch to attach.

20120617-214312.jpg
Appliqué and bondaweb, then a blanket stitch to decorate.

I was so pleased to learn lots of new skills, especially how to do blanket stitch, as I have managed to get this far into sewing and still not know how to do it! The day was such good fun and it was great to meet other members of neighbouring WIs. I hope to use some of my new found skills in my next batch of designs for selling.

So I am now more or less sorted for the craft fair. I have decided on my table layout and have had these fab flyers printed for handing out on the evening

20120617-214936.jpg

I will let you know how it all goes. I am really excited to be doing my first fair but also to be supporting Maeri and The Make and Do Studio, as well as the charities she is donating to. It will be great to have a nosey at the other stalls too!

I’m linking up as usual to Handmade Monday and I’m off now to read what everyone else has been up to this week!

Sarah x

26 thoughts on “Handmade Monday 71

  1. What to charge for the purses? Good question! I clicked your link for where to buy the flexi frame before I read the next bit of the post as I thought it was a great idea. When I read the price I thought “ouch! I wonder how much she is charging for these?” Then you asked the exact, same question!! I’m afraid I’m not much help, knowing the cost now I’m inclined to think along your lines, but if I was buying them I would have no idea of the cost of the components and would therefore probably not want to pay more than about £4. It’s a tricky one, good luck with your decision 🙂

    • Thanks for the feedback, I think I feel the same as you and would want to pay £4 ish but knowing how much time and effort etc goes into them it’s hard to charge that! I think il just have to just bite the bullet this time and charge less with less profit then source cheaper hardware next time!

  2. those purses are so nice such a great way of opening rather then those clippt things which i havent worked out how to put in yet as for price its a difficult one maybe check out folksy but dont underprice your work its beautiful

  3. Your purses are lovely. I don’t think £5/6 is a bad price. They’re one off designs and handmade, and look great. I don’t live far from Warrington so I may pay you a visit, hope the fair goes well and you enjoy it. Ali x

  4. Will be a great evening, I’m sure – I’m looking forward to it too! Your flyers look really professional, I’ve not been so organised!! I have no advice on the lovely purses, sorry, it’s so hard to price things correctly.
    See you there 🙂

  5. your purses are so lovely! i definitely think you could charge £5, perhaps you could mention the ‘top quality’ clasps? pricing is so tricky to get right… i guess in the end you just need to go with what you personally feel comfortable with.

    good luck at your fair, i’m sure it will be a great success and i look forward to hearing all about it! x

  6. Good luck with your fair, I love your flyers, very professional looking. As for the price of the purses, that’s a hard one, I’d try for £5 to start with and gauge the reaction.They look really good and they are unique and handmade.

    Jan x

  7. I love the purses, especially the VW one. Your new skills look good too and I look forward to seeing how you use them! I wish you well with the fair – it must be quite daunting but you look very well prepared. 🙂

  8. I would go with around £5 for the purses, then when you make some more with the cheaper clasps, you’ll get more profit. The applique is lovely and, confession time, I can’t do blanket stitch either!

  9. Pricing is so difficult but I don’t feel that £5-£6 is too expensive – I have bought something similar to the VW one from New Look and paid £8 for it and it obviously wasnt handmade. I think you need to decide whether you want to sell high quality things for the money they are worth to the kinds of people who will buy it or do you want to spend less on cheaper materials, not earn much for your hard work and possibly sell to people who don’t value your skill and hard work. I always struggle with this but I have come to realise that the cheaper people sell things despite all the hard work the more it devalues what you do and I think handmade is worth paying for, you just have to target the right people who will appreciate it and not see it as costing too much. After all, you wouldn’t think twice about spending £20 on a mass manufactured cardigan so why is £6 on a handmade one off purse too much?! X

    • I totally agree, so many people are scared of charging the true cost of something for fear of people thinking its too expensive and not buying! But I know how important it is to keep the whole handmade thing alive and people really need to recognise it, so you have really helped to remind me of that – thank you!

  10. I don’t think £5-6 is high at all really. You can always add other incentives or drop your prices slightly if you find they really aren’t selling at all, but I think that’s a very reasonable price for a hand made purse.

  11. Have you been raiding my stash? Either that or we both have excellent taste in fabric! Hope it goes really well at the studio… sounds like great fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

