Appliqué cupcakes and freehand embroidery tote

This week I thought I would try my hand at appliqué and freehand embroidery, in the style of Poppy Treffry. I have previously tried a cupcake design and had started to complete this a few weeks ago, but had a few issues and gave up!

I had bought a tote bag that you can decorate yourself from Hobbycraft for 99p. I attached my freehand embroidery foot to my machine and away I went.

20120607-192935.jpg

I had a number of issues again, but preserved! I used buttons for the cherry on top of the cupcakes and I am quite pleased with how it has turned out!

20120607-193051.jpg

Here’s a close up of the design

20120607-193109.jpg

I am going to try a different design using another tote bag, and have more designs in mind for some tea cosies!

I am booked onto an appliqué course run by the WI in a few weeks time. I am really looking forward to learning from a tutor rather than being self taught! I can see that after the course all my designs will be based on appliqué!

Sarah x

3 thoughts on “Appliqué cupcakes and freehand embroidery tote

Leave a Reply

