Handmade Monday 65 – Fabric Notebook Cover

I have certainly got my sewing mojo back, there has been steam coming from my machine this week! For my birthday at the end of last year my Hubby got me a subscription to a fabric club – every quarter you receive a load of fabric samples (mainly Kaffee Fassett and Phil Jacobs).

I have had the fabric in my stash, every now and again getting it out and lovingly looking at it, but saving it for the perfect project. Well today I decided I would put it to good use and use it to cover some notebooks. I thought I would share with you how I did it.

20120506-211454.jpg

The notebooks I covered were the Moleskin type – I think something with a hard cover is best.

This is a quick and easy project, great for beginners and also fab for using up scraps from your fabric stash!

To make a fabric cover for your notebook you will need the following:

Sewing machine
Fabric
Lightweight interfacing
Thread
Scissors/ rotary cutter and mat
Iron

1. Measure your notebook, adding 1/2″ to each side. The length of the fabric should allow for a flap to fold over the cover of the book. I added 3.5″ (for each short side) to the length of my book to allow for the flap. This measurement will vary depending on your size of notebook. Cut your fabric and interfacing to size. Due to the size of my fabric samples I joined 2 pieces together, with the seam going down the middle of the spine of the notebook.

2. Iron on the interfacing to the wrong side of the fabric. This will give your fabric just a little extra stiffness.

20120506-211716.jpg

3. Fold over 1/4″ on the short sides, press and then sew.

4. Fold over 1/4″ on the long sides and press (don’t sew yet!). Next turn you fabric right side up and fold over your ‘flaps’ on the short sides. Pin in place.

20120506-212115.jpg

5. Staying as close to the edge as possible, sew along the long (top) sides. This will attach the flaps, giving you the pockets for the notebook to slip into, but also giving a hem to the rest of the cover.

6. Turn right sides out, poke corners out and place your notebook in.

20120506-212802.jpg

20120506-212838.jpg

I hope this has been easy for you to follow. Once you’ve made one you’ll want to make more! I think they make a plain notebook look stunning, they’re also great to give as presents.

I’m linking up to Wendy’s Handmade Monday blog, go see what everyone else has been making this week!

Sarah x

23 thoughts on “Handmade Monday 65 – Fabric Notebook Cover

  1. Thanks for the lovely clear instructions. I know what you mean about using your favourite fabrics – I always want to hold on to mine! Lovely books though. x

  2. Love this idea, I have been trying desperately to get my sewing mojo back but being a beginner it been hard, this has given me the push I needed, thankyou so much

  3. These look fab in your material. Thanks for the tutorial. My daugther has asked me to make her a note book cover A5 size so will be using this. Hugs Mrs A.

  4. love these πŸ™‚ they are so simple to make and look fab. Well done πŸ™‚ That’s another project to put on my list of things to make πŸ™‚ xx

  5. What a fun idea! i’ll have to have a go at this now i have your lovely tutorial to follow! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

