Vintage Tea Cup Candle Tutorial

You may remember I received received a vintage tea cup candle from Emma for one of my advent parcels. It has long since burned to the bottom and a few weeks ago I bought a candle making kit from Twee T’s, determined to make my own! Armed with the kit and a few other cups and saucers, I raided the kitchen cupboards for things to use to make more candles!

20120408-113951.jpg

You will need the following:
Wax (I used just under 500g for 3 cups)
Wick
Wick sustainer and glue dot
Pliers
Vintage tea cup and saucer
Pan
Jug
Pencil or similar

First you need to melt the wax in a double boiler, just let the water simmer, no need to boil. I would recommend using a jug to melt it in as it helps with the pouring later!

20120408-113228.jpg

Prepare the wick by trimming to size (just a bit longer than you need) and securing in a wick sustainer, squeeze with pliers to keep in place. Dip briefly in the melted wax and let it dry straight

20120408-113937.jpg

Secure the wick to the bottom of the cup with a glue dot. Place the pencil on the top of the cup and curl the wick over it. This will keep it in place when you pour the wax in.

20120408-114706.jpg

Pour in the melted wax as smoothly as possible, avoiding the sides of the cup if possible

20120408-114825.jpg

If it cools with a dip in the centre just pour some more melted wax in and top up to original level.

20120408-115131.jpg

The wax I used was called ‘delicate pink’ and has a lovely light floral fragrance. Lucy of Twee T’s is also developing her own website which should be available soon.

20120408-120734.jpg

Why not give candle making a go, it was much easier than I thought and very satisfying!

I thought I’d link up this week to Handmade Monday, as I haven’t done so in ages! Please pop by Wendy’s blog and see what everyone else has been making this week!

Sarah x

27 thoughts on “Vintage Tea Cup Candle Tutorial

  1. I did this a little while ago and it worked really well, and I was able to get the last dregs of perfume from a particularly lovely scented candle which I recycled!

  2. Love the tutorial. I think I’m being drawn to candle making recently. I won 3 soy candles from http://www.soyofthenorth.co.uk/ and was inspired to have a go myself (although not got around to it yet!) and seeing your tutorial has reignited my interest. I’ll put it on my ‘to do’ list.

  3. Ah. Thats the secret then. I have often wondered how you were able to make wicks stand erect in melted wax (not being a candle maker myself lol.). I hope they smell as good as they look.

  4. These look so pretty! Lovely clear and easy to follow tutorial. Thank-you for sharing, and what alovely excuse to buy teacups!
    Jo x

  5. I have always wanted to have a go at making tea cup candles… Now I have no excuse with your tutorial, I will give it a go and let you know how I do 🙂

  6. ooo cant wait to try it ! i bought some fab tea cups yesterday but i cant ruin those – oh no ill just have to go out shopping for some more! ha! thanks!! – btw (fashion faux pas – we use the same wordpress theme ahwel great minds think alike and all that!)

  7. Pingback: 5 easy to do upcycled craft ideas | Tilly Mint Boutique

Leave a Reply

