Weekly Bake Off – Hot Cross Buns

This weeks weekly bake off bake was Hot Cross Buns. Now as soon as I read the recipe my heart sank a little, reading about kneading and rising filled me with dread! However as I missed last weeks recipe I decided I really must make the effort this week and saw it as a bit of a challenge.

The recipe itself is very straight forward, putting all the ingredients together then mixing into a soft dough. Then came the fun part, kneading for 10 minutes! I got into a bit of a rhythm and was quite pleased to see it starting to look like it should! I then left it for 1 hour 30 mins to rise, then another bit of kneading, followed by the shaping of the buns. This is where it started to go wrong. The recipe says to mark a cross in the top, or make some pastry to go on the top. I opted for the easier option and marked the tops, put them into the oven and hoped for the best!

20120401-095540.jpg

As you can see the crosses aren’t really defined however I think they look ok! They certainly taste great and I will definitely be making them again!

Why don’t you pop over to Amy’s site and see everyone else’s buns! Maybe even take part in the next bake which will be announced tomorrow!

Sarah x

Leave a Reply

