Books by my bedside

Helen at Casa Costello recently posted about books by her bedside and kindly tagged me to do the same. So here we are…what I am reading at the moment…

20120301-221323.jpg

I have literally just finished Before I go to Sleep by SJ Watson. This is the first book for the St Helens book group in March. I have to confess, I signed up for the book club as a few of my friends were doing it and I didn’t want to be left out! I wasn’t really sure if reading to a set time frame was going to agree with me. However I was really pleased to find the title of the book was one I has on my amazon wish list after hearing about it on Channel 4’s TV book club. It has taken me about a month to read, which is pretty average for me however it’s a proper page turner! I am so glad I have read it, as it’s not something I would have normally chosen and I would thoroughly recommend it. I can’t wait to discuss it with everyone at the book club and will certainly be looking forward to getting the title of the next book!

When we were given the title for book group, I was reading The Redbreast by Jo Nesbo. I have read all of his other books and The Redbreast is the first book that was published. I haven’t read the books in order, which hasn’t seemed to impact on my enjoyment of the books. However I think I am glad I hadn’t started with this book first. I had put it on the back burner whilst reading the book group book, and I am now reluctant to go back to it. Its not that it’s not a good book, just maybe not for me! I have always been the type of person who has to finish a book, even if I’m not enjoying it! I think though that when there’s so many books out there waiting to be enjoyed, it’s best not to waste time on ones that just aren’t right for you!

I am therefore going to start reading Faithful Place by Tana French. This is again an author that I have read before. She has published 2 other books which I have really enjoyed, so I am hoping this one will be just as good!

20120301-224345.jpg

Although technically not on my bedside, these books are ones that I have on the coffee table at the moment. The 2 hairy bikers books are on loan from my mum, but after saying how much I like them she as bought me my own copies! The Perfect Pies book really is a pastry lovers dream! I am hoping to attempt making some meat pasties at the weekend, I will let you know how I get on! The Everything Alice book was given to me by Nic for my birthday. Since then I really have read it from cover to cover, over and over again! It’s such a great book and as given me a lot of inspiration for my sewing. It is definitely a book that makes me happy!

So there we have it, my current book life in a nutshell! I have decided to tag the following people, hoping they will also share what is by their bedside..

Nic at Nicsnotebook
Janine at Chouxchouxbedoo
Karen at All for Scone

Please feel free to join in even if I haven’t tagged you, I’d love to know what you’re reading at the moment!

Sarah x

3 thoughts on “Books by my bedside

  1. Hiya, thank you so much for joining in with both this meme and the book group. I can’t wait to hear everyone’s thoughts on Before I Go To Sleep too.

    I own the Hairy Bikers Family Cookbook too – keep meaning to use it more often.

    Everything Alice sounds wonderful! I must investigate x

  2. Pingback: Nic's Notebook » Books By My Bedside

Leave a Reply

