Handmade Monday 53

This week I am finally able to share with you the gifts I have made for the Love swap organised by Gem’s country life dream, My swap partner was Pen of Rosa Lily. We decided to send approx 5 items to each other and after looking at Pen’s Pinterest boards, I had a good idea on the things I wanted to make.

The main gift I wanted to do was a tea cosy, with appliquΓ© on the front, in the style of Poppy Treffry. I decided on a cupcake theme and followed a tutorial by Ros Made Me. Because of me not following Ros’s instructions, I had to bodge it a little to get it to all to come together! I was really pleased with the end result however and really hope that Pen likes it too! For my other gifts I sent a few more than 5 as a lot were quite small gifts. I made a fabric coaster, a bracelet, vintage bookmark, some covered buttons using my kit, recommended by Penny, some felt lavender hearts, a mug Cosy and I also sent Pen my Mollie makes calendar that I knew I wouldn’t use.

20120213-232110.jpg

Please pop over to Pen’s blog to see some better photos of what I sent. My parcel from Pen is en-route as I type, so I will post about my gifts later in the week πŸ™‚

I was also very lucky to take part in an impromptu fugly fabric swap with Ali. She sent me some fabric that she had fallen out of love with and I did the same to her. I am now the proud owner of some gorgeous fabrics and have managed to destash my fabric box a little!

20120213-232717.jpg

This made me think that I would like to do something similar as a little giveaway. I would like to offer out 2 packs of scrap fabrics. I have been meaning to do something like this for a while, as I have reached over 400 followers on twitter and you are all so lovely in following me and leaving lovely comments on my blog.

If you want to be in with a chance of getting one of my packs, all I ask is that you leave a comment on this post stating you would like some fabric and maybe do a bit of tweeting/facebook name dropping about me. I will leave it open till approx 6pm on Sunday 19th, after which I will put names into a hat and draw out 2 lucky people to receive some fabric packs. These will be bits of scrap fabric of a useable (no less than 5″x5″) size in all sorts of colours, there might even be some bits of ribbon and buttons in there for good measure πŸ™‚

One last thought…I mentioned a while ago about me doing a kindle cover workshop for The Make and do studio, well the workshop is on Thursday and we now have 7 people signed up for it! Please think of me on Thursday as I am very nervous about teaching my very first workshop, I know everyone will be lovely and I am really looking forward to the experience!

Please pop over to Wendy’s blog to see everyone else’s handmade Monday posts!

Sarah x

*Update*

Those included in the giveaway so far are:

Rachel – Sew ray me
Nicola – Nics Notebook
Janine – chouxchouxbedo
Kate – Another goldfish
Helen – rainsdropsnroses
Leanne
Karen

Please let me know if you’re not on the list and want to be (or if your on it and don’t want to be!)

21 thoughts on “Handmade Monday 53

  1. What lovely things you made for the swap. Good luck on Thursday with the workshop – but I don’t think you will need luck as I’m sure it will be great Mich πŸ™‚

  2. What a fab bumper bundle to get through the post… I would be totally thrilled with them all… love the tea cosy!

    The course sounds really exciting, hope it goes well, cannot wait to see the results πŸ™‚

  3. The tea-cosy is really lovely and a great idea to swap unloved bits and pieces with a fellow crafter. Good luck with the workshop. Hope you have a good week.

  4. Ooh fabric, yes please!

    Your tea cosy looks amazing! You did a great job πŸ™‚

    Good luck for your workshop too, I’m sure you’ll have great fun, take lots of pics – we all want to see you all sewing away πŸ™‚

  5. The tea cosy is just gorgeous! Enjoy (yes, enjoy!!) your workshop – I’m sure it will be a lot of fun and the nerves will fly out of the window as soon as you get stuck in! πŸ™‚

  6. What lovely gifts!! I LOVE the tea cosy!! I’m sure your workshop will be fantastic & I see it’s now full, so well done you!!
    I’d love to be entered in the giveaway draw! I sometimes ‘swap’ scarps with a friend & it’s so nice to get some different bit’s than you might choose yourself! :o)

  7. I had to leave my box of scrap fabric behind when I moved overseas, and since then I’ve not had much chance to replace it. One of my challenges for this year is to gather a crafting stash so I can jump into a project when I have a good idea.

  8. Love the idea of sharing scraps. Have folks share pics of what they make with them! And good luck with your first workshop. I’m sure it will go well.

  9. Im new to reading your blog and love the tea cosy, good luck with your 1st class, I’m sure you will be fantastic and enjoy yourself x

  10. Oohhh I love the tea cosy!! I’m hoping to be giving freestyle embroidery a go soon, and I do love the black outlining on pretty pastel fabrics, a lovely effect! Wishing you lots of luck for your workshop although I’m sure you won’t need it! πŸ™‚
    Xx

Leave a Reply

