Handmade Monday 48

Welcome to the first 2012 handmade Monday! As you may know I signed up for a swap through popular crafts, whereby I make something and gift something with the theme of buttons. I had a few ideas, but after finding out my swap partners likes and hobbies (the colour purple and knitting) my mind was set!

After reading Ros’s tutorial on making a storage roll for knitting needles, I knew it would be perfect for my swap partner. I had quite a hard task finding material with a button theme, however eventually found some Kaffe Fassett fabric from Celtic Fusion Fabrics. It also had a purple tinge to it so it was perfect! I teamed it with some plain cotton fabric and some of the ribbon given to me by Emma from the advent swap and I was ready to go!

Ros’s tutorial was so easy to follow and in no time I had finished!

20120108-161450.jpg

I am quite pleased with how it turned out, I hope my swap partner likes it!

20120108-161539.jpg

I showed my hubby the finished roll and he promptly said he could do with a similar one for his bike things, I feel another project coming on!

Please pop over to Wendy’s blog to see what everyone has been doing for handmade Monday. I also pledged to make one item a month so will use this as my January make, I will add it to the linky over at Annie’s blog.

Sarah x

19 thoughts on “Handmade Monday 48

  1. Love the button fabric – it is really lovely to see how people interpret tutorials… I also love the ribbon that you have used, makes it look very sophisticated 🙂

  2. Thank you for sharing this! My sister knits, maybe this would be a good birthday or Christmas present for her (it’s never too late to start for next year!) 🙂

Leave a Reply

