Harrogate Knitting and Stitching show 2011

It seems like months ago since I ordered my ticket for the Knitting and stitching show in Harrogate! The day finally arrived, with my shopping list in my hot little hand I got on the coach in Warrington which was taking all of us budding crafters to the show. We got there just after 10 and with the time of 5 for departing home I decided on my shopping strategy…spend as much as I could! There was 3 halls to explore plus the exhibitions of people’s work. After a bit of browsing I stopped for a cup of tea and sat in the stalls of the Royal Hall.

I came across a lovely exhibition by the Materialistics. They are a knitting group that take on new projects each year, relying from donations of materials and knitting with a variety of materials. The work that they create is amazing and they have had an article published in the Guardian Newspaper. My most favourite is their version of Klimits The Kiss

I also had a look around the other exhibitions and there was some fab work. The Beryl Dean exhibition was breath-taking, however sadly you couldn’t take photos. There was also a knitted textile awards area, where I saw some fab pieces. here are a few of my favourites:

Becky Dodman

Zosia Mnich – 40 ways to wear one item, one size fits all

Winner of the 2011 award Katie Jones

Montana Williamson – made from cassette tape!

I treated myself to some lovely things and found some fab shops which I will definitely buy from again! Here are my buys

Here are the links of the places I bought from:

The Knitting Hut – I bought a ball of wool and a pattern to made a button up neck cowl

The Little Lavender Patch – a kit to make 3 kitties and a pin cushion house

Dickory Dock Designs – a kit to make some finger puppets

My most random buy of the day was a pack of fur containing pieces of goat,yak,reindeer,wool and mohair. Apparently you can felt it like any other piece of wool, should be interesting to see how it turns out! I also saw a fab bag felted from alpaca wool, you could either buy the bag or get a kit to make your own. It was very expensive though, so might have to put it on my wish list!

I had a fabulous day would highly recommend it (definitely a place to leave your husband/partner at home!) No doubt I will be going again next year!

So now I have finished with my Christmas swaps I have lots of projects to get on with. My first is to make some aprons that I am going to give as presents along with some cookie mixes in a jar, both ideas I have found from Pinterest! I also have some material that I have bought intending to make some clothes so must get round to pattern cutting!

Although my post is not truly handmade this week please go check out Wendy’s blog to see what everyone else has been making this week!

Sarah x

18 thoughts on “Harrogate Knitting and Stitching show 2011

  1. Looks like you had a lovely day! My mam went to the Harrogate Knitting and Stitching Show and really enjoyed it! I loved the one in London πŸ™‚

  2. That sounds so interesting! My sister buys wool from other creatures (like yak I think) and spins it. All of that is a mystery to me, so I can’t wait to see what you make!

Leave a Reply

