My First Handmade Monday

So I have managed to get myself sorted in time for this weeks Handmade Monday 30! This week has been quite momentous for me, firstly as you may have read in my earlier post, I have been given the opportunity to review Reba Collins’s Molly Handbag pattern. I have spent most of the weekend investigating pattern colours and combinations and have finally decided on 2 by Amy Butler – soul blossoms disco flower in chocolate and laurel dots in cherry. I think the disco flower fabric will be the main fabric for the bag.

Reba will be posting her pattern soon, so check out her blog if you too want a bit of Molly!

I feel so fortunate to have found Reba, considering she is thousands of miles away in America! I guess though that really does highlight the magic of Twitter and how important it can be for networking with like minded people. I am also amazed that after only 3 weeks I have already reached 52 followers, thank you to everyone who is following me and reading my blog!

My other project this week has been creating some bunting using some leftover fabric from making a quilt. I think that is what I love most about sewing is being able to create lots of different things out of the same fabric. I followed a great project idea from Seamstar for making the bunting and have just ordered some more goodies for my next round of project making!

The last thing I have been occupying myself with is sewing and pressing fabric to make this fab jelly roll floor cushion. I think its going to take time and patience but know it’s going to look stunning when it’s finished! I am even more pleased as the fabric I am using has been sat on the shelf after being bought but never used!

I have realised several things this week – how important social media is for building relationships, not to sew when I am tired and most importantly to complete projects before starting the next! This is the one thing I have found I do time and time again and have many unfinished projects in a basket crying out to be completed!

Why don’t you check out what everyone else has been doing for Handmade Monday at Wendy’s blog. Until next time….

Sarah x

16 thoughts on “My First Handmade Monday

  1. I love your fabric choices! I so agree about social networking and – unfortunately – can empathise with the unfinished project syndrome. Welcome to Handmade Monday – hope you enjoy it! x

  2. I agree about social media and esp twitter. I’m a recent twitterer, but it’s really helpful to pull people in. In fact Wendy got me really going on it!

  3. Perfect fabric choices! I have such a huge wish list of fabric that I never know where to start when I decide to buy something, so many pretty ones around 🙂

  4. So pleased to find you via Handmade Monday. Love those fabrics and can’t wait to see the finished result. Really agree with what you say about social media, I for one would be so isolated without it.

  5. Hi Sarah! I was just checking your blog to see if you had anything posted about Molly ~ I LOVE your fabric choices, I love everything Amy Butler. I can’t wait to see the finished bag.

    I got the pattern up on my blog today. I decided to give it away to those who sigh up for my mailing list. If any of your visitors want the pattern, they can find the sign-up in the right-hand column of my blog at http://www.RKayDesign.com.

    You seem really busy with sewing, I wish I had that much time but I work a fulltime job. I do spend a lot of time sewing during my off time. I’m getting started on another pattern very soon, I have sketches done, now I need to go buy some muslin to start figuring out the pattern – FUN!

    Talk to you later! Have fun sewing!

    Reba

    • Hi Reba,
      Thanks for your lovely comments. I look forward to seeing more of your fab patterns!

      I too have a full time job and dont know where I find the time to sew (and blog!), never enough hours in the day! and always more projects to try and do!

      Hoping to start Molly this week!

      Sarah x

Leave a Reply

