Small but perfectly formed

The John Lewis Mini may be one of the smallest sewing machines on the market, however it still has enough ‘go’ in it to compete with the rest. My sewing started when I was given one of these little beauties for Christmas. It has all the features you will need to do most basic projects including a choice of different stitches and also comes in a range of colours! It operates on a drop in bobbin system and has a free arm for doing small projects. If you are looking for a machine for your child or even for yourself to see if you enjoy sewing without spending big bucks then this is the one for you. So far I have made cushion covers, lap quits and even a tunic for myself. One of the things I really liked was that it chugs rather than whizzes the fabric through therefore giving you time to keep up with it. On the downside, it struggles with quite thick material and you can’t change the feet on it, however once you start more advanced projects and know sewing is for you then you can branch out into a bigger model. I have just bought a Singer machine so will see how I get on with the plentiful stitches and feet to choose from! If your thinking of getting one of the minis but not sure if it’s for you, please get in touch and we can have a chat!

Have a look at it in more detail on the John Lewis website.

Have a great Sunday, I’m off to do a bit of sewing!

Sarah x

2 thoughts on “Small but perfectly formed

  1. I loved my John Lewis Mini and I too started my sewing career on it and have now updgraded to one of John Lewis’s bigger and better machines.

    Just so you know you can change the feet on it. John Lewis machines are made by Janome so just purchase any Janome screw on foot. Happy sewing xx

Leave a Reply

